A Reading List for the Times Ahead

From Newtown graffiti, on Wikimedia Commons.

From Newtown graffiti, on Wikimedia Commons.

The following is only the sliver of a beginning, and I may add on as I remember titles or authors I left off, or come across new works that qualify. And of course, your input, readers, is more than welcome. And so behold, in no particular order, books I’m sure I’ll be going back to in the coming months (and, sigh, years) for strength, inspiration, wisdom, and generally solid examples of fighting the good fight/s. (Generally, for any author, I give my favorite book of his/hers; especially for Havel, I could make a list exhaustive as the day is long, but that would be of no help to anyone.)

Václav Havel: Open Letters

Edward Said: Representations of the Intellectual

Steve Biko: I Write What I Like

Martin Luther King, Jr.: I Have a Dream (collected writings)

Phoolan Devi: I, Phoolan Devi

Gloria Steinem: Outrageous Acts and Everyday Rebellions

Angela Davis: Women, Race & Class

Chân Không: Learning True Love

Tim Wise: Speaking Treason Fluently

Richard Hofstadter: Anti-Intellectualism in American Life and The Paranoid Style in American Politics

Ludvík Vaculík: A Cup of Coffee with My Interrogators

Jacobo Timmerman: Prisoner Without a Name, Cell Without a Number

Nathan Englander: The Ministry of Special Cases

Gene Robinson: God Believes in Love

Michelle Alexander: The New Jim Crow

Leave a Reply

