Storm-tossed, Yet Stalwart

In celebration of the fact that I seem to have relocated to Tierra del Fuego, here’s a ditty from old Will Shakespeare himself that helps to keep things in perspective:

 

Blow, blow, thou winter wind,
   Thou art not so unkind
      As man’s ingratitude;
   Thy tooth is not so keen,
Because thou art not seen,
      Although thy breath be rude.
Heigh-ho! sing, heigh-ho! unto the green holly:
Most friendship is feigning, most loving mere folly:
   Then, heigh-ho, the holly!
      This life is most jolly.
   Freeze, freeze, thou bitter sky,
   That dost not bite so nigh
      As benefits forgot:
   Though thou the waters warp,
      Thy sting is not so sharp
      As friend remembered not.
Heigh-ho! sing, heigh-ho! unto the green holly…

 

Actually, I don’t really mind the buffeting we’re getting; I can’t really take seriously the slight kernel of fear that my windows won’t hold up against all this drama. Besides, I’m hitting the road (or the turbulent skies, rather) tomorrow, so a respite’s in sight. Until then, I’ll just close my eyes and pretend I’m in some sort of sea-based adventure, with multiple varieties of weirdness going on inside the creaking hull. My guess is, I’ll fall asleep long before any sort of plot starts playing itself out, but it’s nice to aspire to something imaginative. Good night, all!
Leave a Reply

